Sinology in Göttingen

The Department of East Asian Studies in Göttingen is structured to advance studies on China’s rapid changes and its growing global relevance. Our goal in research and teaching is to pursue a wide range of approaches to study China, from philosophical scholarship to economic analysis. Our work covers a broad range of different subjects ranging from history to sociology, and they are often engaged in interdisciplinary collaboration. The Department is internationally well-connected with numerous world-renowned institutions, and we highly value research with trans-regional approaches. Apart from our commitment to research excellence, one of our main goals is to train experts on modern China. We seek our students to grow capable of understanding China through its long traditions as well as its global entanglements. They are meant to intertwine their sophisticated knowledge of Chinese language and culture with a solid training in research methodology, as well as the core skills required to succeed in the labour market.

Teaching

Since 2008, ‘modern China’ is the focus of China studies at the Department of East Asia Studies in Göttingen. It is characterized by the period studied (China from the 17th to the 21st century), the trans-regional comparative approach and the interdisciplinary cooperation with related research disciplines.

Research

This page contains information on our research staffs and their profiles, a database to the resources of China-related research and the research institutions which are connected to the Department of East Asian Studies.

Department

Established in 1925 and reorganized in 2009 with a modern focus, the Department of East Asian Studies has been growing steadily since 2009. Today 12 permanent faculty members and four guest teachers from mainland China and Taiwan are working at the department.

Events

Tue 19

CFP: Manchu in Global History: A Research Language for Qing Historians

19. Sep., 08:00 - 22. Sep., 17:00
Kulturwisssenschaftliches Zentrum, KWZ 1.601

Sinologie Göttingen

Das Sinologische Seminar in Göttingen arbeitet in Strukturen, welche dem raschen Wandel und der wachsenden globalen Bedeutung Chinas gerecht werden. In Forschung und Lehre verfolgt es verschiedene Zugänge zur chinesischen Welt, welche von philosophischen bis hin zu wirtschaftsbezogenen Fragestellungen reichen. So unterschiedliche Gebiete wie etwa die Geschichtswissenschaft oder die Soziologie sind vertreten und werden in einen interdisziplinären Austausch gebracht. Das Seminar ist international mit Spitzeninstituten vernetzt, und transregionale Fragestellungen genießen einen hohen Stellenwert. Neben wissenschaftlichen Aktivitäten besteht eines seiner Hauptziele darin, Fachkräfte auszubilden, die das moderne China im globalen Kontext und vor dem Hintergrund seiner langen Traditionen verstehen, und die dabei hohe sprachlich-kulturelle Kompetenz mit einer soliden Ausbildung in Forschungsmethoden und arbeitsmarktbezogenen Schlüsselkompetenzen verbinden.

Studium

Das Sinologische Seminar Göttingen setzt einen Schwerpunkt auf das Moderne China (17. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart). Wie in der Forschung, genießen auch in der Lehre interdisziplinäre und transnationale Perspektiven besondere Aufmerksamkeit.

Forschung

In der Forschung liegt am Ostasiatischen Seminar der Schwerpunkt auf den Transformationsprozessen im modernen China. Die Mitarbeiter widmen sich diesem Thema in den Fachbereichen, in denen sie jeweils ausgebildet sind.

Seminar

1925 gegründet und 2009 mit einer modernen Orientierung reorganisiert ist das Ostasiatische Seminar stetig gewachsen. Heute haben wir 12 feste Stellen in Forschung und Lehre, unterstützt durch 4 Gastlektorinnen aus dem chinesischsprachigen Raum.

Veranstaltungen

Mo 12

Vortrag: „Ritual and Conversion in the Early Modern World: A case Study of Mary, Mazu, and Mariners“

12. Dez., 18:00 - 20:00
Kulturwissenschaftsliches Zentrum, Raum 0.602